Pages

Tuesday, May 14, 2013

Book Review of The Blood Drama



Book Review of The Blood Drama
Sponsored by Virtual Book Tours



Welcome to Books, Books, and More Books.  I am pleased to share my review of this book with you.  Thank you for visiting and please come again.

Publisher: White Wiskers Press  (June 15, 2013)
Category: Mystery/Thriller/Suspense, Crime Thriller
Tour Date: Mid May- Mid June, 2013
Available in: Print &  eBook, 242 pages

Blurb : 

Everyone has a bad day. Graduate student Ian Nash has lost his girlfriend in addition to being dropped from a Ph.D. program in theatre at a Southern California university. When he stops at a local coffee shop in the lobby of a bank to apply for a job, the proverbial organic matter hits the fan. A gang of four robs the bank, and things get bloody. Ian is taken hostage by the robbers when the police show up. Now he has to save his life.

FBI Special Agent Aleece Medina's analysis of the bloody bank heist drives her into the pursuit of a robbery gang headed by two women. She doesn't anticipate how this robbery will pit her against both the bandits and the male higher-ups in the FBI while the media heats up during a giant manhunt.

The robbers are about to kill Ian, and all he has at hand is his knowledge of the stage.

About the Author:

Christopher Meeks first published short fiction in a number of literary journals, and the stories are available in two collections, The Middle-Aged Man and the Sea and Months and Seasons. Recently, he's focused on novels. The Brightest Moon of the Century is a story of a man who yearns for love and success, covering over thirty years-a tale that Marc Schuster of Small Press Reviewsdescribes as "a great and truly humane novel in the tradition of Charles Dickens and John Irving." His last novel, Love At Absolute Zero, is about a physicist who uses the tools of science to find his soul mate-and he has just three days. Critic Grady Harp calls the book "a gift." The new novel, Blood Drama, has him edge into a thriller. Meeks also runs White Whisker Books and publishes four authors.

Contacts:


website

Other:

Blood Drama  Web Tour Schedule
So Many Precious Books May 13 Review & Giveaway
Books, Books & More Books May 14 Review                                           
Books, Books & More Books May 15 Interview
Alive on the Shelves May 16 Review                                             
Ordinary Girls May 17 Review                                           
DWED Blog May 20 Review                                    
DWED Blog May 21 Interview
She Treads Softly May 22 Review                                      
Reading With Tea May 23 Review                                     
Darlene's Book Nook May 24th  Interview &Giveaway
Green Mountain May 27 Review                                        
Book Lover's Library May 28 Review                                           
Book Lover's Library May 29 Interview & Giveaway
Raging Bibliomania May 30 Review                                               
Hezzi D's Books & Cooks June 3 Review                                       
Celtic Lady June 4 Interview
Laurie's Thoughts & Reviews June 10 Review                                         
Laurie's Thoughts & Reviews June 11 Interview
I'd Rather be Reading June 12 Review &   Giveaway
Self Taught Cook June 14 Review                                      
Wormhole June 17 Review                                     
Wormhole June 18 Interview & Giveaway

Review

This was a quirky book.  I felt dragged along on the adventure, a slightly off-kilter but enjoyable ride.  Nash is a whiner who needs to grow up, and during the course of this adventure he does.  His whole life is upended and he is mad at everyone because it is their fault that things are not following his plan… which I’m not even sure he knows what it is.  He is one of those perpetual students who just doesn’t want to grow up because they enjoy being a child.

Then he is taken hostage during a bank robbery and FBI Special Agent Aleece Medina enters his life in her brash no nonsense way.  Aleece isn’t sure what to do with Nash.  His life is in danger, he needs protecting, she’s attracted to him and annoyed with him in the same instance.  Her zest for life may be just the thing Nash needs to get his act together… if they survive.

I’m not sure what I was expecting when I started reading this book, but this book is in a class by itself.  The heroes are deeply flawed.  The villains, with one glaring exception, are really not all that bad… in fact at least one or more are motivated by honorable intentions.  The author knows just how to turn a phrase to make you take a second look at a situation you thought you understood, only to find that perhaps it’s not what you thought at first, or even second, glance.

I give this book 4.5 out of 5 clouds.

Come back tomorrow for our interview with Christopher Meeks.

This product or book may have been distributed for review; this in no way affects my opinions or reviews.

2 comments:

  1. I'm so glad you enjoyed Blood Drama as much as I did. This is the third book of Christopher's that I have read and they all have quirky characters, which I love.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I am happy to find this post very useful for me, as it contains lot of information.
    Accounts Software For Small Business
    Simran Kaur

    ReplyDelete